Mississippi has an extensive network of doctors, counselors, and other trained professionals to help you nurture your child’s health and well-being. Use the information below to learn more about the resources available to you and your child.
The Mississippi Division of Medicaid (MDOM) is the No.1 provider of health care services to children in Mississippi. If your child is in need of health care or health insurance, we encourage you to contact MDOM as soon as possible.
The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that all children be screened for developmental delays and disabilities during regular well-child doctor visits at nine months, 18 months, and 24 or 30 months. Children three years of age and older should be tested for developmental delays once per year. There are several options for parents and guardians who wish to have their child screened for development delays.
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT)
If your child is eligible for Medicaid, the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program is a federally mandated service that provides preventive and comprehensive health services for children, including developmental screenings. To find out more about the services available from EPSDT, call 800-421-2408, or click here to submit a general inquiry to the program.
Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA; First Steps)
If you have a child that is younger than three years old, the First Steps program through the Mississippi State Department of Health may provide developmental services and other resources to help your child meet his or her maximum potential. Services provided include (but are not limited to) screenings, evaluations and assessments, Individualized Family Service Plans (IFSPs), early intervention services, transition plans to preschool services under Part B of IDEA, and other programs. To learn more about First Steps and to find out whether you are eligible, contact your local health office, or call (601) 576-7427 in the Jackson area, or call toll-free 1-800-451-3903.
If your child is not Medicaid-eligible or does not qualify for services under Part C of IDEA, you may be able to receive a developmental delay screening through your regular healthcare provider. Call your child’s primary care physician to verify if a screening can be performed. Request a referral to another location if your primary care physician is not able to perform a screening.
Additional Developmental Screening Resources